Test your Rules of Golf knowledge with our "Know The Rules" question of the month! Each month, our certified Rules experts will present a new rules scenario so NYSGA members may continue to sharpen their knowledge at home.
 

"Know The Rules" Question of the Month

 

A player's putt for birdie on a par-3 came to rest a dimple (or two) short, stopping on the edge of the hole. The player took a reasonable amount of time to get to the hole. The player thought the ball was moving ever so slightly, and waited for 30 seconds after which the ball fell into the hole.

Which is the correct application of Rule 13.3 (Ball Overhanging Hole)?

A. The ball must be treated as being at rest. Since the ball fell into the hole after being at rest, it is considered holed with the previous stroke and the penalty gets one penalty stroke added to the score for the hole for a score of 3.

B. The ball was not at rest because the player said it was moving. The ball had been holed with the previous stroke for score of 2. 

C. The ball was not at rest because the player said it was moving. The ball had been holed with the previous stroke, but the player receives two penalty strokes for a breach of Rule 5.6a (Unreasonable Delay) for a score of 4.

(Scroll for answer)

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

Correct Answer

A. The ball must be treated as being at rest. Since the ball fell into the hole after being at rest, it is considered holed with the previous stroke and the penalty gets one penalty stroke added to the score for the hole for a score of 3.

---

Looking for more Rules of Golf practice? The USGA offers Rules Quizzes on their website.

--

Back to Rules of Golf Homepage