2013 New York State Golf Association Scholarship Award Recipients

SYRACUSE, N.Y. – The New York State Golf Association is pleased to announce the 2013 NYSGA Scholarship Award Recipients.  The purpose of the NYSGA Scholarship Program is to sustain a strong commitment to New York State residents who matriculate in specific two or four year College/University programs such as Agronomy, Turf Grass Management, and Professional Golf & Country Club Management.

The eleven recipients will be granted $1,500 to help supplement their college financial needs and pave a way to careers in the golf industry. The NYSGA is able to grant these scholarships thanks in part to donations from NYSGA Members and Member Clubs. This year’s Scholarship winners are as follows:

Derrick Brown (Schenectady) – SUNY Delhi

Douglas Brown (Mayfield) – SUNY Delhi

Brandon Gaydorus (Endicott) – Methodist University

Cody Homer (West Winfield) – SUNY Delhi

Harry Hyde** (Romulus) – Methodist University

R. Davis Jensen (Loudonville) – Methodist University

Damon Kull (Old Forge) – Florida Gulf Coast University

Kyle Lewis (Saratoga Springs) – SUNY Delhi

David Mastroianni (Schenectady) – Florida Gulf Coast University

Paul Montanaro (Brockport) – Campbell University

Gregory Stavrou (Rockville Center) – SUNY Delhi

**Denotes Billy Arliss Award Recipient

Beginning in 2014, the NYSGA has made the decision to increase the total annual giving amount from $16,500 to $30,000. This increase will signal an increase in individual scholarships as well. At the discretion of the NYSGA Scholarship Committee, award recipients have the potential of receiving an award amount between a minimum of $1500 to a maximum of $3000. The number of awards given out each year will be at the discretion of the NYSGA Scholarship Committee as well.

Also beginning in 2014, the NYSGA has made the decision to add the program Business Management of Golf to the list of specific programs that recipients can matriculate in to receive an award.

To learn more about the NYSGA Scholarship Program, click here. To make a donation to the scholarship fund, click here.

-Ranelle Graber, Manager – Communications & Development 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>